Ocarina of Time 3D Thoughts

Playing Ocarina of Time 3D has been like injecting pure nostalgia right into my brain fun zones. I rented the N64 game so many times as a kid that really my parents should have just bought it for me–it would’ve saved them a ton! (OoT, StarFox 64, Goldeneye, and Shadows of the Empire are the four games that I think my family spent the most money on during my childhood.)

The 3DS remaster is pretty damn good. I like the new character models and I love how they made the whole game brighter. Being able to see in some of the darkened boss chambers makes things easier.

How they’ve redone the item system is a bit of a trade-off. Yay 4 items at once! Boo 2 of them are virtual buttons and kind of a pain to use! My wife and I went through the Water Temple over the weekend, and it’s been redesigned/tweaked (apparently), but I couldn’t see any differences. It was still a pain. I remember Dark Link being able to hurt you when he jumps on top of your sword in the original N64 version though. Now him jumping on your sword is just kind of cutely annoying. Oh look honey, he’s doing it again. Get off of there you little scamp!

Is Ocarina of Time the best Zelda game? Probably not. Majora’s Mask and Twilight Princess both take top honors in my book. But Ocarina of Time wins the “I Remember a Ton of Tiny Details and Stuff from This Game because I Played It So Many Damn Times” award. And I have to say, this 3DS version is the definitive version.

Plus, getting to play it with my wife means both of us are on a serious Zelda kick. Next up will be Majora’s Mask 3D then we’ll dive into Twilight Princess and then I want to try the HD version of Wind Waker. (I’m never touching Skyward Sword ever again)

